clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Maryland men’s lacrosse attacker Jared Bernhardt wins 2021 Tewaaraton Award

Bernhardt has the most points and goals in program history.

COLLEGE LACROSSE: MAR 28 Maryland at Rutgers Photo by Rich Graessle/Icon Sportswire via Getty Images

Maryland men’s lacrosse senior attacker Jared Bernhardt was named the winner of the 2021 Tewaaraton Award, the foundation announced Saturday.

Bernhardt is just the second Terp from the men’s lacrosse program to win the award, with the other being attacker Matt Rambo in 2017.

The 2021 season in College Park was one that wasn’t supposed to happen for Bernhardt as he had aimed to use his final year of eligibility at Ferris State as a Division II quarterback. The coronavirus pandemic ultimately altered those plans and kept him in the Terrapin program for one more ride.

In his senior season, Bernhardt tallied 71 goals and 28 assists for 99 total points, moving him into first all-time in program history in points (290), goals (202). Bernhardt also put a stamp on his senior campaign by setting program records for goals (18) and points (24) in a single NCAA Tournament. His goal and point totals this season were also single-season program records.

Not only did those numbers make waves in College Park, but Bernhardt led the nation with 4.6 goals per game and 6.27 points per game. That consistent level of excellence also landed him five Big Ten Offensive Player of the Week honors in one season and the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year award among many other accolades.