clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Maryland men’s lacrosse earns seven All-Big Ten awards

The Terps had seven players selected to all-conference teams and took home offensive and defensive players of the year.

Photo courtesy of Maryland Athletics

The awards and recognition have come in abundance for Maryland men’s lacrosse in 2021. And in perhaps the most fitting gesture, the coaches of the league recognized a conference-high seven All-Big Ten honorees from Maryland.

The Terps also added a unanimous Offensive Player of the Year and Defensive Player of the Year in attacker Jared Bernhardt and Nick Grill, respectively, to their laundry list of award winners.

In spite of an undefeated regular season — the Terps first since 1987 — head coach John Tillman did not make the cut for Coach of the Year honors, instead losing out to Rutgers head coach Brian Brecht, who led the Scarlet Knights to an 8-2 record.

The Terps picks on the All-Big Ten first team included unanimous selections Bernhardt, defenseman Brett Makar, and attacker Logan Wisnauskas, the league leader in assists (22). Grill, who caused a league-high 1.2 turnovers per game, joined the trio as a regular selection on the first team. Makar and Grill stood as the only defensemen selected on the first team, with the rest of their peers being attackers and specialists.

Short stick defensive midfielder Roman Puglise, midfielder Kyle Long and goalie Logan McNaney (league-best 9.65 GAA) were second team selections.

Now a highly anticipated postseason awaits for the talented roster. The Terps are set to play in the Big Ten tournament semifinal on May 6 at 5 pm against the winner of the Michigan and Ohio State quarterfinal match.