clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Maryland’s Cathy Reese named IWLCA Coach of the Year

The Terps’ head coach receives the honor for the fourth time.

2019 NCAA Division I Women’s Lacrosse Championship Photo by Rob Carr/Getty Images

Maryland women’s lacrosse head coach Cathy Reese has been named the IWLCA Coach of the Year for 2019.

This marks the fourth time Reese has won this honor, with each of her previous wins also coming since 2010. She last won the award in 2014 and 2015, and has earned the distinction in four of her five title seasons at Maryland.

In 2019, Reese helped guide a Maryland program looking to reclaim its spot at the top of the sport after losing to Boston College in the national semifinal in 2018. And the Terps did just that, going 22-1 and knocking off BC in the title game to capture another championship. The journey came with some turbulence, but the team persevered through many close games, wild circumstances and a tough loss to Northwestern in the Big Ten championship game to become national champions.

In the process, Reese became Maryland’s all-time wins leader, and her career record now sits at 270-22. Since coming to College Park, Reese has been named conference Coach of the Year in 11 of her 13 seasons along with her four national honors. Reese has led the Terrapins to eight national championship appearances, including five title wins overall and four in the last six years.

The Terrapins took home four of the six IWLCA yearly honors in 2019, with Megan Taylor being named Player of the Year and Goalkeeper of the Year, Julia Braig winning Defender of the Year and now Reese receiving Coach of the Year.