clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

7 Maryland women’s lacrosse players named IWLCA All-Americans

This marks the most All-Americans the Terrapins have ever had in one season.

Maryland women’s lacrosse Megan Taylor vs. Northwestern Final Four Lila Bromberg / Testudo Times

Postseason awards have begun to stream in for the national champion Maryland women’s lacrosse team, as a program-record seven players were named to the IWLCA 2019 All-American teams.

Jen Giles, Julia Braig and Megan Taylor received first-team honors, while Kali Hartshorn landed on the second team and Lizzie Colson, Erica Evans and Caroline Steele made the third team.

Last season, the Terrapins had six players named All-Americans, with a similar split of three first-team, one second-team and two third-team selections. Taylor, Giles, Braig, Steele and Colson earned selections in 2018 as well as this year.

Braig and Giles were named to the first-team for the second year in a row, while 2019 Tewaaraton winner Megan Taylor jumped all the way to the top after being a third-team selection in 2018. Each nominee for the 2019 Tewaaraton Award was named to the first team as Sam Apuzzo, Dempsey Arsenault and Selena Lasota were included.

Evans earned her third career All-American selection after being named to the third team in 2016 and second team in 2017 before her injury and transfer to Maryland. Junior Kali Hartshorn was a newcomer to the list after being a dominant force on the draw and showing flashes of brilliance on the offensive end this season.

While the placement of some Maryland players could be debated, there is no doubt that all seven deserved these individual honors. Head coach Cathy Reese will return All-Americans Colson and Hartshorn as the team will look to regroup and put together another championship effort next spring.