clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Maryland lacrosse’s Connor Kelly and Megan Whittle are both Tewaaraton finalists

This is the Maryland Minute, a short story followed by a roundup of Terps-related news.

NCAA Lacrosse: Men's Championship Winslow Townson-USA TODAY Sports

Maryland’s Matt Rambo and Zoe Stukenberg both took home the Tewaaraton award last year, and now Connor Kelly and Meghan Whittle have a chance to keep that streak going. The seniors were both among five nominees for the men’s and women’s award.

Kelly wears the prestigious No. 1 jersey, and has built upon its legacy. He leads Maryland in goals (40), assists (33) and points (73), and has joined former No. 1 Matt Rambo as the only Maryland players to have at least 40 points and 30 assists in a single season. He also became the second midfielder in Maryland history to score 100 goals, joining the legendary Frank Urso.

Kelly joins Denver senior FOGO Trevor Baptiste, Duke senior attackman Justin Guterding, Yale senior attackman Ben Reeves and Loyola junior midfielder Pat Spencer as nominees. All five have a chance to win the award, and it will probably go to whoever has the best NCAA Tournament.

Whittle’s senior season has been an assault on the record books. She has 74 goals and 12 assists, and passed Jen Adams on April 15 for the program’s all-time goals record. Whittle’s 326 career points rank second in team history, and her 288 goals are one behind Temple’s Gail Cummings for second in NCAA history. Besides dominating on offense, Whittle has been a wing on Maryland’s outstanding draw control unit, and her 35 draw controls rank fourth on the team.

Whittle joins Boston College junior attack Sam Apuzzo, James Madison senior attack Kristen Gaudian, North Carolina senior midfielder Marie McCool and Stony Brook senior attack Kylie Ohlmiller as nominees.

Maryland has won the last six Tewaaraton awards on the women’s side, though odds are Whittle won’t make it seven. Previous winners Katie Schwarzmann, Taylor Cummings and Zoe Stukenberg were all two-way midfielders, and as and attack, Whittle has to stay on the offensive side of the field. Apuzzo and McCool fit that mold, though Ohlmiller and her 81 goals and 64 assists could buck the trend.

Both Kelly and Whittle will be in action this Sunday at noon, with the men’s team battling Robert Morris and the women’s team taking on the winner of Friday’s Denver-High Point game.

The winners will be announced May 31 at the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of the American Indian.

In other news

Here’s a little more on John Tillman’s squad’s first round opponent, and a story from ILWomen on how Cathy Reese’s team deals with high expectations.

Four-star cornerback Tayvion “Tank” Land committed to Maryland last night. He’s the fifth recruit in the Terps’ 2019 class.

Current Maryland football Melvin Keihn reunited with his mom in Liberia for the first time in 14 years this summer, and College Gameday’s feature on the meeting won a Sports Emmy award.

Maryland softball’s season ended yesterday with a loss to Illinois in the Big Ten tournament.

While some boosters and alumni have criticized Maryland’s search process for its next athletic director, current Board of Regents member Gary Attman offered support for the process and current interim AD Damon Evans, writes The Baltimore Sun.