clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Maryland’s Connor Kelly wins Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year

The senior has been great this season, and the Big Ten thinks so too.

Maryland lacrosse Connor Kelly vs. Albany Lila Bromberg / Testudo Times

Connor Kelly has had an incredible senior year, and on Tuesday was named the Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year for his efforts so far this season.

Kelly has taken over Matt Rambo’s role as the main distributor on Maryland’s offense, and his 30 assists this year are more than he had in the previous three years combined. He’s also chipped in a team-high 36 goals, and his 5.08 points per game lead the Big Ten. Kelly is the second straight Maryland player to win the award, as Rambo won it last year.

Besides winning Offensive Player of the Year, Kelly joins Rutgers senior attackman Jules Heningburg as unanimous First Team All-Big Ten selections. Sophomore attackman Jared Bernhardt was also named to the First Team, while senior defender Bryce Young, junior defender Curtis Corley and senior goalie Dan Morris were named Second Team All-Big Ten.

However, Kelly wasn’t the only member of the team to pick up an individual honor. Head coach John Tillman was named Co-Big Ten Coach of the Year, sharing the award with Ohio State’s Nick Myers. Maryland lost multiple key contributors from last year’s national championship team, but the Terps were able to win a fifth consecutive regular season conference title. Their 11-2 record is also one game better than at this time last season.

Other award winners included Rutgers senior Michael Rexrode as Defensive Player of the Year, Ohio State freshman Justin Inacio as Freshman of the Year and Penn State sophomore Gerard Arceri as Specialist of the Year.

The second-ranked Terrapins starts their quest for a third straight Big Ten tournament title Thursday against No. 11 Rutgers in Ann Arbor, Michigan.