clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Maryland lacrosse's Matt Rambo, Zoe Stukenberg nominated for ESPY Awards

Lacrosse season may be over, but awards season is still going strong for the Terps.

NCAA Lacrosse: Men's Championships Winslow Townson-USA TODAY Sports

Matt Rambo and Zoe Stukenberg are going to represent Maryland at the ESPY Awards this year. After each winning the Tewaaraton Award this spring, the duo are up for Best Male College Athlete and Best Female College Athlete, respectively.

Rambo, who finished his career as Maryland’s all time points and goals leader, is one of five nominees for Best Male College Athlete. He goes up against former Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson, former Kansas point guard Frank Mason, Penn State wrestler Zain Retherford and former Wake Forest midfielder Ian Harkes. Especially with Watson and Mason in the competition, it will be a tough challenge for Rambo to win.

Former Washington point guard and top overall WNBA draft pick Kelsey Plum is Stukenberg’s biggest threat. After Plum, Stukenberg is nominated alongside Inky Ajanaku of Stanford’s women’s volleyball team, Kelly Barnhill of Florida softball, and Kadeisha Buchanan of West Virginia soccer.

Including the Tewaaraton award, Stukenberg has dominated awards season for women’s lacrosse, winning almost every award she can. Taylor Cummings represented Maryland lacrosse for the same award at the last three ESPYs, but lost to olympian and former Cal swimmer Missy Franklin and former UConn star Breanna Stewart twice.

ESPN will air the 25th ESPY Awards on July 12 at 8 p.m ET, and voting will close when the show begins.