clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Maryland lacrosse owned the 2017 season

This is the Maryland Minute, a short story followed by a roundup of Terps-related news.

NCAA Lacrosse on Twitter

Maryland men’s and women’s lacrosse have both been among the premier programs in the country for a while. But the Terps dominated 2017 in a way no other program ever has.

After sweeping the national championships on Memorial Day weekend, Maryland won both Tewaaraton Awards on Thursday. Matt Rambo took home the hardware on the men’s side, while Zoe Stukenberg won the award on the women’s side. She extended Maryland’s streak to six straight winners, becoming the third player to win it in that span, while Rambo put the men’s team on the board with its first Tewaaraton honor.

It’s hard enough for a school to win both championships in the same year; even though North Carolina did so in 2016, the Tar Heels became the first dual champs since Princeton in 1994. In the Tewaaraton Award’s 17-year existence, no school had ever taken home both trophies until last night.

In 2017, Maryland captured both national championships, and Terps captured the two highest individual honors in the sport. This clean sweep is unprecedented, and we could be waiting a long time for someone to pull it off again.

In other news

Rambo and his teammates were a quirky bunch off the field all season, but it didn’t bring them down.

Maryland baseball starts NCAA Tournament play today. Let’s look at the other teams in the Terps’ region.

Here’s Jonas Shaffer on Terps outfielder Marty Costes, and here’s Roman Stubbs on how John Szefc keeps his team loose.

Three-star Georgia athlete Trey Morrison has Maryland in his top six.