clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Maryland women’s lacrosse is still taking home postseason awards

This is the Maryland Minute, a short story followed by a roundup of Terps-related news.

2017 NCAA Division I Women's Lacrosse Championship - Semifinals Photo by Omar Rawlings/Getty Images

Maryland women’s lacrosse already won the national championship this spring with a perfect 23-0 record. Senior midfielder Zoe Stukenberg already won the Tewaaraton Award, the sport’s highest individual honor. She and several of her teammates have already captured various conference and national awards.

But what’s a couple more?

Stukenberg and fellow senior Nadine Hadnagy were named Inside Lacrosse’s National Midfielder and Defender of the Year, respectively, this week. Both received the same honor from the Women’s Lacrosse Coaches Association last week. According to the school’s website, Stukenberg has earned 13 different individual accolades this season; this will be Hadnagy’s ninth.

Sophomore goalie Megan Taylor was the WCLA Goalie of the Year; IL hasn’t named its top goalie yet, but she’s probably the favorite. Having the nation’s best player at three of the four positions seems like a reliable recipe for success, and Maryland is fortunate enough to have just that.

In other news

Two Maryland baseball players were taken on the second day of the MLB Draft, starting with Kevin Smith to the Toronto Blue Jays.

The Arizona Diamondbacks took right-hander Brian Shaffer two rounds later. He’s been waiting for his chance for a long time.

Profiles in Terpage reached Lorenzo Harrison, who should be one of Maryland’s featured running backs this season.

We’ve left you all to choose the Maryland running back of all time. LaMont Jordan leads, but we’ll leave the polls open all week.

The Big Ten is reportedly considering moving to a 20-game conference basketball schedule.