clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Maryland women’s lacrosse wins 5 Big Ten postseason awards

The Terps also feature seven members of the all-Big Ten team

NCAA Lacrosse: Women's Championship - Maryland Terrapins vs. North Carolina Tar Heels Bill Streicher-USA TODAY Sports

For the second consecutive season, Maryland women’s lacrosse took home five of six postseason Big Ten awards.

Megan Taylor won Goalkeeper of the Year and Cathy Reese won Coach of the Year, both of whom are repeat winners. Taylor finished first in the conference with a .549 save percentage, and second with a 9.18 goals-against average.

For Reese, this is her ninth Coach of the Year honor across 11 seasons in the Big Ten and ACC. She was the only unanimous selection of the six recipients.

Seniors Zoe Stukenberg and Nadine Hadnagy earned hardware in their final season, taking Midfielder and Defender of the Year, respectively. Stukenberg finished the season with 66 points and 62 draw controls, both tied for sixth in the conference.

Former Terps Taylor Cummings and Alice Mercer won these awards last season, with Cummings winning each of the previous two midfielder of the year awards.

Finally, Kali Hartshorn earned Freshman of the Year after finishing the season with 49 goals and 60 points. She took over for Cummings in the draw circle, and contributed to Maryland’s 14.79 draw controls per game, which ranked 14th in the country. Stukenberg was the last Terp to win conference Freshman of the Year, winning the ACC’s version in 2014.

The only award that didn’t go to a Terp was Attacker of the Year, which belongs to Penn State’s Steph Lazo. Megan Whittle, who was tied for the conference lead with 60 goals, won this award last season, and former Terp Brooke Griffin won it two years ago.

In addition, last week seven Terps were named to the All-Big Ten team, with Whittle, Stukenberg, Hadnagy and Taylor being unanimous selections. Julia Braig, Caroline Wannen and Jen Giles also made it onto the team.

Finally, the Big Ten also announced its sportsmanship honorees, one of which was Maryland’s Bairre Rielly.