clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Maryland soccer’s Alex Crognale, Gordon Wild named MAC Hermann Trophy semifinalists

The award is soccer’s most prestigious individual honor.

Matthew Regan

Maryland men’s soccer may have ended its season on a disappointing note, but two players still have the chance to bring home a trophy for the Terps this year.

Senior defender Alex Crognale and sophomore forward Gordon Wild, both First Team All-Big Ten selections this year, were named to the 15-man 2016 MAC Hermann shortlist by the National Soccer Coaches Association of America on Tuesday. Maryland and Wake Forest were the only schools to have two players named as semifinalists.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the most prestigious individual honor in NCAA Division 1 soccer and has been awarded annually since 1967.

Crognale, the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Year and Big Ten Tournament Most Valuable Defensive Player, anchored the defense for the Terps this season. In addition, the senior captain scored six goals and played an instrumental role for a Maryland team that finished the regular season unbeaten and set a program record with 15 consecutive wins.

Wild, The Big Ten Offensive Player of the Year, was continuously on the scoresheet this year. The German native netted 17 goals for the Terps in his debut season, the most for any Maryland player since Patrick Mullins in 2013. The USC Upstate transfer also earned Big Ten Tournament Most Valuable Offensive Player honors.

Mullins, a current D.C. United striker, won the award in both 2012 and 2013, and was the last Terp to do so. Forward Jason Garey won the trophy in his senior season after his 22 goals in 25 games helped clinch Maryland’s 2005 Championship.

Three men’s finalists will be named on Dec. 14, after all the NCAA D1 coaches have concluded voting, and the 2016 MAC Hermann Trophy banquet will be held on Jan. 6 to formally announce this year’s winner.