clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

MM 11.24: Maryland women’s basketball announces 2020-2021 Big Ten schedule

New, 20 comments

This is the Maryland Minute, a short story followed by a roundup of Terps-related news.

Big Ten Women’s Basketball Tournament - Championship Photo by Justin Casterline/Getty Images

Maryland women’s basketball released its finalized schedule Monday after the Big Ten officially announced its conference slate.

The No. 12 Terps are looking to defend their Big Ten title but will face challenging matchups in No. 16 Indiana, No. 17 Northwestern, No. 20 Ohio State and No. 25 Michigan.

Maryland has seven home-and-home matchups, however, No. 20 Ohio State is the only ranked opponent they play twice. Last season, Maryland beat Ohio State, 82-65, to win the Big Ten tournament championship.

The other teams Maryland faces twice are Rutgers, Michigan State, Minnesota, Purdue, Wisconsin and Penn State. The Terps will also play six other teams once, three of which are ranked. Their single matchups are against No. 16 Indiana, No. 17 Northwestern, No. 25 Michigan, Iowa, Illinois and Nebraska.

The Terps are set to start their season Thanksgiving weekend in the #BeachBubble Tournament, where Maryland will take on three teams, including two ranked opponents in No. 14 Arkansas and No. 24 Missouri State.

Head coach Brenda Frese’s squad will then host Towson, Coppin State and Mount St. Mary’s before starting their Big Ten slate against Rutgers in Piscataway, New Jersey on Dec. 14.

Maryland’s last regular-season conference game will be against Penn State at home the weekend of March 5. The Big Ten Tournament has been moved to March 9 through March 13 in Indianapolis, Indiana, due to the coronavirus pandemic.

Additionally, the Big Ten released a statement that said, “to allow for maximum flexibility in the potential rescheduling of games, this year’s schedule is built with corresponding byes throughout the schedule and a collapsible bye during the final week of the regular season.”

Maryland women’s basketball full Big Ten schedule:

Dec. 14 (Mon): Rutgers — away

Dec. 23 (Wed): No. 20 Ohio State — home

Dec. 31 (Thu): Penn State — away

Jan. 4 (Mon): No. 16 Indiana — home

Jan. 7 (Thu): Michigan State — away

Jan. 10 (Sun): Purdue — home

Jan. 14 (Thu): Minnesota — away

Jan. 17 (Sun): Wisconsin — away

Jan. 21 (Thu): Iowa — home

Jan. 25 (Mon): No. 20 Ohio State — away

Jan. 28 (Thu): Rutgers — home

Feb. 4 (Thu): Wisconsin — home

Feb. 7 (Sun): No. 25 Michigan — away

Feb. 10 (Wed): Michigan State — home

Feb. 14 (Sun): Nebraska — away

Feb. 17 (Wed): Illinois —home

Feb. 20 (Sat): Minnesota — home

Feb. 25 (Thu): Purdue — away

Feb. 28 (Sun): No. 17 Northwestern — away

March 5 (Fri) - March 6 (Sat): Penn State — home

In other news

Maryland football officially returned to practice Monday, resuming its traditional weekly schedule after a downward trend in positive cases.

Lila gave three thoughts ahead of the Maryland men’s basketball season.

Matt took a look at DJ Moore and Yannick Ngakoue’s dominant performances in Week 11.

Dylan recapped a wild weekend that was in Big Ten football despite no Terps in action.

Matt and Lila broke down the men’s basketball season on the latest podcast.

Maryland football will kick off at noon for the first time this season against Indiana on Saturday.

After two weeks off due to positive COVID-19 tests, Maryland football was back in the gym Monday morning ahead of the team’s first practice.

Senior guard Darryl Morsell is ready to lead Maryland men’s basketball into the 2020-21 season.

Chris “Bubba” Alleyne closed out Maryland baseball’s final time at The Bob until 2021.

Former Maryland soccer goalkeeper Dayne St. Clair is thriving with Minnesota United FC, making six saves to earn a clean sheet in the club’s win over Colorado Rapids.