clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jalen Smith named semifinalist for Naismith Player of the Year Award

The sophomore is one of 10 players who made the cut.

Jalen Smith, Nebraska, 2020 Sarah Sopher / Testudo Times

Jalen Smith is one of 10 semifinalists for the 2020 Citizen Naismith Men’s College Player of the Year award, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced Thursday.

The Maryland men’s basketball forward is one of two Big Ten players who made the cut, joining Iowa big man Luka Garza.

Also on the list are Udoka Azubuike (Kansas), Vernon Carey Jr. (Duke), Devon Dotson (Kansas), Malachi Flynn (San Diego State), Markus Howard (Marquette), Myles Powell (Seton Hall), Payton Pritchard (Oregon) and Obi Toppin (Dayton).

Smith currently ranks third in the nation with 2020 double-doubles on the season, which leads the Big Ten.

The Baltimore native also leads the conference in field goal percentage in league play, shooting 56.4 percent from the field. He is second with 10.9 rebounds and 2.3 blocks per game, while fifth in scoring at 16.7 points per contest.

The winner for the prestigious award will be announced on April 5. Joe Smith is the only other Terp to earn the honor, doing so in 1995.