clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

MM 12.1: Trio of Maryland football players to enter transfer portal

This is the Maryland Minute, a short story followed by a roundup of Terps-related news.

Indiana v Maryland Photo by G Fiume/Getty Images

By Drew Owens

Three Maryland football players announced this week their intentions to enter their names in the transfer portal when it officially opens on Dec. 4. Defensive end Tamarcus Cooley and offensive lineman Ja’Kavion Nonar announced their decisions to transfer on Tuesday, while defensive back Gavin Gibson made his announcement Thursday afternoon.

Cooley, a freshman, appeared in two games for the Terps. He recorded four total tackles, one solo tackle and three assist tackles. The three-star recruit from Rolesville, North Carolina, was ranked No. 27 overall in his state and No. 77 among safeties nationally.

Nonar is a three-star offensive tackle from Belle Glade, Florida. He was the No. 76 offensive tackle in his class, but did not see the field for Maryland this season.

Lastly, Gibson, a sophomore, represents the most impactful loss of the group. In his first year at Maryland, he registered 17 total tackles — 13 solo — four assist tackles and a sack. Gibson’s sophomore year showed similar numbers, with him totaling 15 tackles. Given departures elsewhere in the Terps’ defensive back room, Gibson seemed primed for a substantial role as a junior.

In other news

Maryland men’s basketball begins Big Ten play Friday night at Indiana. Colin McNamara previewed the matchup.

Ryan Alonardo provided takeaways from Maryland women’s basketball’s 70-point win over Niagara.

Three Maryland field hockey players are representing the United States in the FIH Hockey Women’s Junior World Cup. The team opened pool play with a 2-1 win over Japan.

Maryland track and field begins its indoor season this weekend at the Navy Invitational.

Seeds were revealed for Maryland’s wrestlers ahead of this weekend’s Cliff Keen Las Vegas Invite.

Maryland volleyball’s Zoe Huang was the team’s Big Ten Sportsmanship honoree.