clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

MM 8.4: Maryland announced its 2021 Hall of Fame class

This is the Maryland Minute, a short story followed by a roundup of Terps-related news. 

Maryland v George Washington Photo by Mitchell Layton/Getty Images

Eight Maryland alumni will be inducted into the University of Maryland Athletics Hall of Fame as part of the Class of 2021, the athletics department and the M Club announced on Tuesday.

Here is a complete list of the honorees:

  • Rick Badanjek, football
  • D’Qwell Jackson, football
  • Steve Blake, men’s basketball
  • Sasho Cirovski, men’s soccer
  • Maurice Edu, men’s soccer
  • Paula Infante, field hockey
  • Keli Smith-Puzo, field hockey
  • Crystal Langhorne, women’s basketball
  • Erin Taylor Blount, women’s soccer

Badanjek was a running back for the Terps until he was drafted by Washington in the seventh round of the 1986 NFL Draft. He has the most rushing touchdowns in program history with 44. Badanjek’s performance in the 1984 Sun Bowl of 90 yards and two touchdowns earned him MVP.

Jackson was a linebacker for the Terps and ranks fourth in program history in tackles with 447. He was ACC Defensive Player of the Year in 2005 and the Cleveland Browns drafted Jackson in the second round of the 2006 NFL Draft. He played with the Browns and Colts over 11 seasons and was a 2014 Pro Bowl Selection.

Blake was a part of the 2002 National Championship men’s basketball team and was an all-conference selection for all four seasons he was with the Terps. Blake was drafted by the Washington Wizards in the second round of the 2003 NBA Draft and he played professionally until 2016.

Cirovski is the current men’s soccer head coach and has led the Terps to three National Championships in 2005, 2008 and 2018. He’s won over 400 matches and is officially the program’s most winningest coach.

Edu played under Cirovski and had a successful run with the Terps. He was part of the 2005 team and then was a first-team All-American in 2006. Edu’s collegiate career ultimately led to him being the No. 1 pick in the 2007 MLS SuperDraft and then won Rookie of the Year. Edu went on to play in the 2008 Olympics and the 2010 FIFA World Cup.

Infante was named a First Team All-American all four seasons with the Terps. With her leadership, Maryland field hockey won the NCAA Championship in both 2005 and 2006. Infante went on to play for the Chilean National Team.

Smith-Puzo was a part of the 1999 NCAA Championship team. In three out of her four seasons with the Terps, Smith-Puzo earned All-ACC honors. She went on to play in both the 2008 and 2012 Olympics.

Langhorne was a part of the 2006 women’s basketball NCAA National Championship team. Her name is all over the record books as both her 2,247 career points and her 1,229 career rebounds fall at No. 2. Langhorne went on to become a two-time WNBA champion and two-time WNBA All-Star before joining the Seattle Storm front office in February as the Director of Community Engagement for the Force4Change initiative.

Blount is the first women’s soccer star to be a First Team All-American and ACC Player of the year in 1996. The defender had 12 career goals and five assists. Blount went on to coach at the Ohio State University.

In other news

Maryland women’s basketball will play Miami in the 2021 Big Ten/ACC challenge which is set to take place in December.

Maryland women’s lacrosse welcomed midfielder Shannon Smith to its roster after she transferred from North Carolina.

Maryland men’s basketball is tied for the most players drafted into the NBA from the Big Ten since 2016.

Maryland volleyball is helping fans to get to know setter Erin Engel.