clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Maryland men’s basketball forward Donta Scott named to Karl Malone Award watch list

Scott is one of the 20 players on the list.

Courtesy of Maryland Athletics

Maryland men’s basketball forward Donta Scott is one of the 20 players named to the watch list for the 2022 Karl Malone Power Forward of the Year Award.

The last Terp to be named to the same award was Jalen Smith back before the 2019-20 campaign.

Scott has been one of the most important players in Maryland’s program since arriving in College Park in 2019, and now he’s returning for his junior season with a talented team surrounding him. A season ago, Scott made 27 starts as a sophomore out of 31 games and averaged 11 points, a team-best 5.9 rebounds and two assists, while also leading the team with 49.8% shooting from the field.

Scott has always been a very dominant forward for the Terps, and he also had the best three-point percentage on the team last season en route to Maryland’s trip to the second round of the NCAA Tournament.

Looking at the other players in the Big Ten on the Karl Malone Award watch list, there are three other players besides Scott named as a candidate. Purdue’s Trevion Williams, Ohio State’s E.J. Lidell and Indiana’s Trayce Jackson-Davis have all been named to the watch list.