clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Maryland volleyball’s Abigail Bentz, wrestling’s Jahi Jones win Big Ten Medal of Honor

This is the Maryland Minute, a short story followed by a roundup of Terps-related news.

Maryland volleyball’s Abigail Bentz and Maryland wrestling’s Jahi Jones were named the university’s 2019 Big Ten Medal of Honor award recipients Tuesday.

Only 28 athletes throughout the Big Ten receive the award, which started in 1915, each year.

Bentz served as this year’s Student-Athlete Advisory Council (SAAC) president and is a four-year letter winner for the volleyball team. She served as a 2018 team captain and finished her career with 282 digs, 281 assists and 35 aces. A multiplatform journalism major, Bentz is also a three-time Academic All-Big Ten honoree and a two-time Big Ten Sportsmanship Award recipient.

Jones is a four-year letter winner for the wrestling team, as well as a a Big Ten Distinguished Scholar and a three-time Academic All-Big Ten selection. One of the captains for the wrestling team, Jones will graduate with a dual degree in accounting and supply chain management. During his time as a Terp, Jones wrestled in the 157-pound weight class. He picked up two dual meet victories this season, and also won three matches at the Midlands Championships.

“Abby and Jahi are both incredible student-athletes who have made remarkable contributions to the University of Maryland in the classroom, their athletic arenas and in the community,” athletic director Damon Evans said in a press release. “They are exceptional role models and leaders who have been phenomenal representatives of our University and are more than deserving of this tremendous honor.”

In other news

With Chol Marial committed and signed to Maryland basketball, Thomas takes a look at what the Terps’ rotation might look like next season.

Maryland women's golf sophomore Virunpat Olankitkunchai leads all golfers after the second round of the 2019 NCAA Women’s Regional at Auburn, with the Terps sitting eighth of 18 teams (top six advance). The final round starts today at 9 a.m. ET.

Maryland soccer won the 2018 national championship, and now it has the rings to go along with it. The team debuted the new hardware on social media Tuesday.

2017 national champions Matt Rambo, Colin Heacock and Nick Manis came back to visit Maryland lacrosse on Tuesday.

Maryland basketball continued its Campus Challenge series, this time playing the club volleyball team.