clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

5 Maryland men’s & women’s lacrosse players named Tewaaraton Award nominees

This is the Maryland Minute, a short story followed by a roundup of Terps-related news.

Maryland lacrosse Jared Bernhardt vs. Richmond Lila Bromberg / Testudo Times

Maryland men’s lacrosse attacker Jared Bernhardt was named a Tewaaraton Award nominee Thursday, as were women’s lacrosse players Julia Braig, Jen Giles, Megan Taylor and Kali Hartshorn.

The four nominated women’s players makes Maryland tied for the most of any school in the country, with Boston College as the other. Twenty-five players are nominated for both the men's and women's award.

Bernhardt, a junior, leads John Tillman’s squad with 64 points and 40 goals so far this season, and he ranks 11th in the nation in goals per game (4.92).

Giles leads the women’s team with 47 goals and 19 assists, in addition to 26 ground balls, 23 draw controls and nine caused turnovers. Hartshorn has anchored Maryland in the draw control circle all season, where it leads the Big Ten with a .599 percentage; Hartshorn has 106 draw controls already. Braig, now a two-time nominee, has been a huge leader for Maryland’s defense all season, with 18 ground balls and 11 forced turnovers.

Taylor is arguably the best goalie in the nation, leading with a .589 save percentage and only a 7.37 goals against average. She has racked up awards all season long, being named the IWLCA National Defender of the Week three times and the Big Ten Defensive Player of the Week six times. A senior, this is Taylor’s third straight year in the running for the Tewaaraton Award.

The last time a Maryland player won the prestigious honor was 2017, when Matt Rambo and Zoe Stukenberg both won. The Tewaaraton Award winners for 2019 will be announced on May 30.

In other news

Maryland safety Darnell Savage Jr. was selected as the 21st overall pick by the Green Bay Packers in the NFL Draft. This is the second consecutive year a Terp has gone in the first round.

The NFL Draft continues today. Follow along with our draft coverage here.

Read Justin’s draft profile on Byron Cowart, who hopes to hear his name called this weekend.

Maryland basketball will host George Mason as part of its non-conference schedule next season. The Patriots finished 18-15 last season, losing in the Atlantic 10 quarterfinals.

Five Maryland women's lacrosse players were selected in the WPLL Draft Thursday night. Erica Evans and Jen Giles were the highest picks, selected fifth and sixth overall.

Maryland Day is Saturday. Football will have its annual spring game at noon, followed by a lacrosse doubleheader against Johns Hopkins.