clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Maryland Athletics announces Hall of Fame Class of 2018

It’s an elite group of inductees for an elite honor.

LaMont Jordan #15
LaMont Jordan
Getty Images

The M Club and athletics department announced a nine-member University of Maryland Athletics Hall of Fame Class of 2018 Thursday morning.

Adrian Branch, Eden Kroeger Burks, Gillian Cote Cook, Jason Garey, LaMont Jordan, Howard Labow, Karen Trudel Martellucci, Cathy Nelson Reese and Joe Walters will all receive “the highest athletic honor the University can bestow” on Friday, Nov. 2 at the Samuel Riggs IV Alumni Center, the program said in a release.

“We would like to congratulate all of this year’s inductees and their families,” Athletics Director Damon Evans said. “This is a tremendous class of Hall of Famers who have made an undeniable impact on Maryland athletics both on and off the field. We’re looking forward to celebrating this outstanding 2018 class and recognizing their academic and athletic achievements.”

Wanda Alexander, Mike Freiman, Don Pearman and Don Scheeler will all receive honorary M Club awards “for their longtime dedication to Maryland athletics.” The M Club’s Distinguished Citizen of the Year award will go to Albert Carey, who’s a former Maryland student athlete and the CEO of PepsiCo.

“I’m thrilled to announce this distinguished group of deserving Hall of Fame Inductees,” Executive Director of the M Club and Director of Alumni Engagement Laura Chiriaco said in the release. “Their exceptional athletic achievements brought great pride and recognition to the University of Maryland and we are honored to celebrate their success. Congratulations to our entire Hall of Fame Class and thank you for your extraordinary contributions to Maryland Athletics.”

Branch played for the men’s basketball team from 1982-85. He’s first all-time in Maryland history in career minutes per game (34.0) and led the Terps to the 1984 ACC Tournament Championship and two Sweet 16 appearances in 1984 and 1985. He was a two-time Second Team All-ACC selection.

Kroeger Burks played volleyball from 1994-1998. She’s first all-time in assists with 5,259 and was twice named First Team All-ACC, including earning ACC Player of the Year honors in 1997. Kroeger Burks was a co-captain of the 1995-96 team that went undefeated in ACC play and won the 1996 ACC Championship.

Cote Cook, who competed for Maryland from 1999-2002, holds best all-time individual score (39.625), bar score (9.925) and beam score (9.950) in Maryland history. She was a 2001 NCAA All-American in the All-Around competition and the 1999 rookie of the year. Cote Cook is the first gymnast inducted into the Maryland Athletics Hall of Fame.

Garey played for the Terps from 2002-2005, making the College Cup every year and winning the National Championship in 2005 as a senior and captain. He’s first in program history in goals (60), points (140) and single season points (53). During his senior season, he was the MAC Herman Trophy Winner and the ACC Player of the Year. Garey was a two-time All-American (2004-05).

LaMont Jordan leads Maryland football in career rushing yards (4,147), single-season rushing yards (1,632 in 1999), single game rushing yards (306 vs. Virginia, 1999), single-season rushing touchdowns (16 in 1999), career rushing attempts (807), 100-yard rushing games (18) and single-season touchdowns. (17 in 1999). In that 1999 season, he was name driven First Team All-ACC and Second Team All-American.

Labow fenced for Maryland from 1973-76, culminating in a 1976 ACC Championship and a second straight national runner up finish. He was All-Conference all four years he was a Terp and is the first fencer to be inducted into the Maryland Athletics Hall of Fame.

Trudel Martellucci played both women’s lacrosse and field hockey from 1983-85. She was a lacrosse All-American all three years, scoring 135 goals and 185 total points in her career. Between field hockey and lacrosse, she reached five Final Fours. She was a 1985 NCAA All-Tournament Team honoree for lacrosse.

Nelson Reese is the only active Terp in this class to be inducted to the Maryland Athletics Hall of Fame. She played lacrosse for the Terps from 1995-98 and has been the head coach since 2007. In that time, she’s been a part of 11 National Championship-winning teams. She’s a three-time National Coach of the Year (2010, 2014-15). As a player, she was a two-time All-American and First Team All-ACC performer (1997-98). She’s coached seven Tewaaraton Award winners, 16 Tewaaraton finalists and 57 All-Americans.

Walters played lacrosse for the Terps from 2003-06. He’s first in Maryland history in game winning goals (13) and extra man goals (20) and second all-time in career goals (153). He’s the 2004 ACC Player of the Year & ACC Tournament MVP and 2006 Jack Turnbull Award Winner. He was a finalist for the Tewaaraton Award. Walters was also a member of three Final Four teams (2003, 2005, 2006), two ACC Tournament Championship teams (2004, 2005) and the 2003 ACC Regular Season Championship team.