clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Maryland football releases depth chart for Howard game, with all kinds of fun on it

Ty Johnson will be the Terps’ starting running back.

maryland spring practice Alexander Jonesi

The Maryland football team opens its season this Saturday against Howard, and the team has finally released its first depth chart under new head coach DJ Durkin.

Durkin announced on Wednesday that Perry Hills is the team’s starting quarterback, but has been coy for the most part about naming starters this preseason. There are some obvious ones here and some surprises.

Caleb Rowe isn’t listed on the two-deep behind Hills at quarterback, but true freshmen Tyrrell Pigrome and Max Bortenschlager are.

Perry Hills Ty Johnson
Tyrrell Pigrome Trey Edmunds
Max Bortenschlager Kenneth Goins Jr
Jake Funk

With Wes Brown suspended for the first three games of the season, Ty Johnson is Maryland’s starting running back. The Terps will surely employ a rotation at the position, but Johnson, a sophomore, beat out graduate transfer Trey Edmunds and freshmen Lorenzo Harrison and Jake Funk.

Michael Dunn Mike Minter Brendan Moore Maurice Shelton Damian Prince
Derwin Gray JaJuan Delaney Joe Marchese Terrance Davis EJ Donahue
Quarvez Boulware Sean Christie

The thing to notice here is that true freshman Terrance Davis is listed on the two-deep behind Shelton at guard.

D.J. Moore DeAndre Lane OR Malcolm Culmer Derrick Hayward OR
Tino Ellis Will Likely Levern Jacobs Avery Edwards
Jahrvis Davenport Teldrick Morgan Andrew Isaacs
DJ Turner

D.J. Moore and Malcolm Culmet are listed as starting wide receivers, with DeAndre Lane and Will Likely listed in competition for the third spot. There’s a whole lot of other guys on the two-deep, and they’re all going to get time in an offense that moves as fast as Maryland’s will.

Roman Braglio Kingsley Opara Cavon Walker Jesse Aniebonam
Brett Kulka Azubuike Ukandu David Shaw Melvin Keihn

As expected, Jesse Aniebonam is starting at the BUCK, Brett Kulka and Roman Braglio are starting at defensive end. Inside, Keiron Howard is an upset at starting tackle, getting the spot over David Shaw, Azubuike Ukandu, and Kingsley Opara has the other starting tackle spot.

Jalen Brooks Jermaine Carter Jr. Shane Cockerille
Brett Shepherd Isaiah Davis Jalen Brooks
Antoine Brooks

Jermaine Carter Jr. obviously has middle linebacker locked down, Jalen Brooks listed as the SAM and with Shane Cockerille and Brooks both listed at the WILL.

JC Jackson WIll Likely Darnell Savage Jr. Denzel Conyers Alvin Hill
RaVon Davis Jarrett Ross Qwantrezz Knight Josh Woods Tino Ellis
Antwaine Richardson Elijah Davis Jake Funk

Denzel Conyers starting at safety is a bit of a surprise, as Josh Woods seemed to have the inside track on his spot, but the rest of the secondary turned out as we expected. Likely, JC Jackson and Alvin Hill are at corner and Darnell Savage Jr. is the team’s starting safety. Also of note: Tino Ellis and Jake Funk are both listed on the two-deep at defensive back.