clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Tom McMillen and Kevin Glover among seven to be inducted into The Maryland State Athletic Hall of Fame

Two former Maryland stars will be inducted into the Maryland State Athletic Hall of Fame, along with five others, including Baltimore Orioles legend Brooks Robinson.

Mitch Stringer-USA TODAY Sports

On Thursday, the Maryland State Athletic Hall of Fame (MSAHOF) announced seven inductees that will make up the Hall's 2015 class, including former Maryland basketball forward/center Tom McMillen and football center Kevin Glover.

McMillen, who was inducted into the College Basketball Hall of Fame in 2013, scored 1,807 points and grabbed 859 rebounds in the three years he played for Maryland and coach Lefty Driesell, averaging 20.5 ppg during that span. McMillen was the top high school recruit nationally and chose Maryland over North Carolina and the late Dean Smith.

He was also named a Rhodes Scholar and played 11 years in the NBA after being drafted 9th overall by the Buffalo Braves. He was eventually elected to the U.S. House of Representatives, representing Maryland's 4th Congressional District from 1987-1993. McMillen also played on the 1972 U.S. Olympic team and was elected to the Maryland Athletics Walk of Fame in 1995.

Kevin Glover was a first-team All-American center at Maryland in 1984 and was drafted in the 2nd round of the 1985 NFL Draft by the Detroit Lions. Glover went on to play 15 years in the NFL, made three Pro Bowls and was part of the offensive line in Detroit that helped Barry Sanders rush for over 2,000 yards in 1997.

Glover was elected into the Maryland Athletics Walk of Fame in 2000 and currently serves as the Coordinator of Development, Alumni & Community Relations in the Maryland Athletics Department.

Additionally, the MSAHOF announced that former Maryland sports information director Jack Zane will be one of two people honored with the John F. Steadman Lifetime Achievement Award. Zane served as SID for Maryland from 1969-1988.

Other notable inductees include former Baltimore Orioles third baseman Brooks Robinson and the late former Baltimore Colts tight end John Mackey, The induction ceremony will take place on November 12, 2015. Tickets for the event can be purchased here.