clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

The Basketball Tournament: DMV's finest back at it again in 2015

New, 1 comment

DMV's Finest will be competing once again in The Basketball Tournament. A Maryland Terrapin great will be coaching the team.


The Basketball Tournament (TBT) has begun and DMV's Finest will be back in action after making it to the quarterfinals in last year's tournament. They will be coached by Maryland's own Juan Dixon and John Auslander. The team will be comprised of guys from Georgetown University: Jason Clark, Austin Freeman, Chris Wright and George Mason's Mike Morrison, Ryan Pearson and Isaiah Tate. The team will also have Gilbert Brown (Pittsburgh), Augustus Gilchrist (South Florida), Jerai Grant (Clemson) and Rashad Wack (Mount St. Mary's).

The foundation they are playing for is Zaching Against Cancer in honor of Zach Lederer. He was a former Maryland Basketball manager who battled brain cancer. He died March 11, 2014 at the age of 20.

The tournament will be a five on five, single elimination, winner take all style. It includes no less than 125 players this year and the caliber of players consist of NBA, NBA D-League and college level athletes. The teams will be separated by regions: South, Midwest, West and Northeast. DMV's Finest will be playing out of the Northeast region. Their first game is Friday July 17th against Team Elite at 10am.

The prize is one million dollars and 97 teams want the big check. TBT Founder/CEO Jon Mugar is pleased with the growth of the tournament:

"To grow from 32 teams in 2014 to 97 teams in 2015 serves as a testament to the open tournament model. There are an extraordinary amount of sports fanatics that want to step into the role of team owner or GM, build their own franchises from scratch, and compete in an event that pays off with live game coverage on ESPN."

Former Maryland forward Evan Smotrycz is also participating in the event, playing on team HBC ( Hurley Basketball Club) in the South region.

The TV Schedule for the tournament is as follows:

Four Regional Championship Games on ESPNU, Saturday July 25th (4PM, 6PM, 8PM, and 10PM eastern time)

Semifinals on ESPN Saturday August 1st, at 2PM and 4PM

Championship Game on ESPN Sunday August 2nd, at 3PM

Here are some highlights from last year: