clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Maryland women's basketball - Brown and Walker-Kimbrough receive AP Honors

Individual awards season opened Monday night and the Associated press fired the first salvo naming its All-America Teams. The writers found Maryland's Lexie Brown and Shatori Walker-Kimbrough worthy of being recognized.

James Snook-USA TODAY Sports

The Associated Press released it's 2014-15 women's basketball All-America teams Monday night. Maryland's Lexie Brown was named to the third team while Shatori Walker-Kimbrough received honorable mention.

Lexie Brown

The announcement naming her to the third team is the second honor for Brown who last week was named to the WBCA All-Region team. The Georgia sophomore received plenty of preseason attention and was listed on several watch lists for the nation's top point guard and top plsyer. Brown is Maryland's third leading scorer at 13.4 points per game. She averages nearly 4.5 assists per game and has made 67 three point shots both of which lead a very balanced Terrapins team. Defensively, Brown also leads the Terps with 78 steals averaging over two per game.

Shatori Walker-Kimbrough

Fans who watched the 2013-14 Terps know Walker-Kimbrough well. However, the Pennsylvania sophomore had not quite burst onto the national scene to gain significant preseason recognition. Her  performance over the course of the year changed that. Walker-Kimbrough is Maryland's second leading scorer at 13.5 points per game just ahead of Brown and three-tenths of a point behind Laurin Mincy. Only fellow sophomore Brionna Jones grabs more rebounds for the Terrapins than Walker-Kimbrough. The sophomore stepped up her game in the Spokane Regional of the NCAA Tournament and was named the region's Most Outstanding Player.

Others on the team

Two players, Connecticut's Breanna Stewart and Notre Dame's Jewell Loyd were unanimous picks. The Big Ten had one representative on the first team in the person of Amanda Zahui B. Tiffany Mitchell of South Carolina and Nina Davis of Baylor rounded out the first team which had no seniors.

Ohio State's Kelsey Mitchell, who led the country in scoring, represented the Big Ten on the second team. Rounding out that squad are Elizabeth Williams of Duke, Brittany Boyd from Cal and UConn's Kaleena Mosqueda-Lewis and Moirah Jefferson.

Joining Brown on the third team are Iowa's Samanth Logic, Jillian Alleyne of Oregon, A'ja Wilson of South Carolina, Ruth Hamblin of Oregon State and Reshanda Gray of California.