clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

Maryland basketball: Mark Turgeon, Melo Trimble and Dez Wells earn NABC All-District Honors

New, comments

More awards for the Maryland Terrapins after their great 2014-2015 season.

Evan Habeeb-USA TODAY Sports

The National Association of Basketball Coaches (NABC) announced their all-district teams on Friday, with Maryland head coach Mark Turgeon, along with Wisconsin coach Bo Ryan, being named District 7 Coach of the Year. Maryland freshman standout Melo Trimble earned NABC first team honors while senior leader Dez Wells was named to the second team.

Turgeon was previously named the Big Ten coach of the year by the conference media back on March 9th. While Turgeon was coaching at Texas A&M, he was twice named the Big 12 Conference coach of the year, in 2010 and 2011.

This represents yet another award for Trimble, who was previously named to the USBWA Freshman All-America team3rd-team All-American by NBC, and to both the first and second All-Big Ten teams earlier in March.

Like Trimble, Wells was also named to both the first and second all-Big Ten teams, helping to lead the Terps through their inaugural Big Ten season and guiding them to their first NCAA Tournament appearance in five years.