clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

No. 6 Maryland field hockey takes Big Ten title with win vs. Iowa

The Terrapins are on a 14-game winning streak.

Ben Queen-USA TODAY Sports

It took two overtimes, but Maryland field hockey won the outright Big Ten title Saturday with a 2-1 win over Iowa (9-9).

Sophomore Lein Holsboer scored less than two minutes into the second overtime period to give No. 6 Maryland (16-3) the win. She broke away from the Iowa defense, and flipped the shot over Hawkeyes goalie Alexandra Pecora, giving Maryland sole possession of the Big Ten championship. It is the Terrapins' 21st conference championship.

Maryland opened the scoring 19 minutes into the first half. Senior Welma Luus found fellow senior Anna Dessoye in front of a crowded goal, and Dessoye slotted it past the defense. It was Dessoye's eighth goal of the year, and gave Maryland a 1-0 advantage.

The game remained scoreless until the second half. With 18 minutes left in regulation, Iowa sophomore Veronique Declercq fired a shot at Maryland freshman goalie Sarah Holliday. Holliday saved the initial shot, but couldn't clear it away. Hawkeye sophomore Mallory Lefkowitz pounced on the rebound, and poked it past Holliday to even up the game. No more scoring would occur in regulation, sending the game to overtime.

Maryland started overtime fast, winning two penalty corners in the first two minutes, but couldn't get past Hawkeyes goalie Pecora, who saved three shots in overtime.

The second overtime provided the breakthrough the Terrapins needed. Holsboer scored a break away goal two minutes after the period started, giving Maryland sole possession of the Big Ten title for a second straight year.

Maryland will begin the Big Ten tournament next week. The Terps will be the No. 1 seed overall.