clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Midfielder Dan Metzger named to MAC Hermann watch list

The senior midfielder is among 32 players to make the preseason watch list for college soccer's most prestigious award.

Evan Habeeb-USA TODAY Sports

The MAC Hermann committee made it clear Wednesday who they believe is the player to watch on the 2014 Maryland men's soccer team - senior midfielder Dan Metzger. Metzger is coming off a season where he started all 26 games for Maryland and registered the third highest number of minutes played behind only Mikey Ambrose and Patrick Mullins.

In helping to guide the Terps to their second consecutive ACC Championship, Metzger left a deep impression in Maryland's final season in the conference. He earned first team All-ACC honors as well as gaining a spot on the All-Tournament Team.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is considered college soccer's most prestigious award. In 2013, Terrapins forward Patrick Mullins became only the second player to win the award twice. Mullins had also captured the award as a junior while helping lead Maryland to back to back College Cup appearances. Jason Garey became Maryland's first MAC Hermann award winner in 2005.

Metzger is one of only two Big Ten players on the preseason watch list. He is joined by Northwestern goalkeeper Tyler Miller as the only players to represent the Terps' new conference.

Maryland is ranked second in the preseason NSCAA Division I Men's Soccer Poll behind defending National Champion Notre Dame. Also representing the B1G in the poll are Michigan State (10), Penn State (15), and Wisconsin (21).

The Terps begin their season with a bang opening on the road at fourteenth ranked Louisville on August 29 before coming back to College Park to open their home season with back to back games against ranked squads. First up Maryland will face number 17 Costal Carolina on the first of September. In state rival and nineteenth ranked UMBC then come to Ludwig Field for a game on Friday September 5.

Maryland will open their Big Ten conference slate at Michigan before hosting Michigan State on September 19.