clock menu more-arrow no yes

Filed under:

2014-2015 Maryland women's basketball schedule released

New, 3 comments

The Big Ten announced Maryland's conference schedule Thursday, their first as a member of the B1G. The Terps will host all five Big Ten 2014 NCAA Tournament teams.

Andy Lyons

The Big Ten released their 2014-2015 women's basketball schedule Thursday, Maryland's first as a member of the conference.While the men's squad opens their inaugural B1G season with a road contest at Michigan State, the Terrapin women will lead off with a home game on December 29 against Ohio State.

All five of the conference's 2014 NCAA Tournament teams - Purdue, Michigan State, Iowa, Nebraska, and Penn State -as well as Illinois, Rutgers, and Indiana will join the Buckeyes in visiting the Xfinity Center. Maryland's partners in home and home series are Michigan State, Nebraska, Rutgers, Penn State and Indiana. Minnesota, Michigan, Wisconsin, and Northwestern will host the Terrapins but will not be coming to College Park this season.

One of the intriguing story lines of the schedule could arise when Maryland visits Minnesota in the Terps' second Big Ten road tilt on January 11. Brenda Frese was the head coach for one season at Minnesota, where she led them to a 22-8 record and the second round of the NCAA Tournament before leaving to take the helm at Maryland.

As the only undefeated team in the ACC-B1G challenge, Maryland does have some history with their Big Ten opponents. The Terps have played at least one game against 11 of their 13 conference opponents with only Indiana and Northwestern missing from the list. Over the years, they have compiled a combined record of 46-29 (.613) against this season's Big Ten opponents. Since Frese assumed Maryland's head coaching duties, the Terps have compiled a 12-4 record against the teams that make up the 2014-15 Big Ten. Maryland's last loss to a current Big Ten opponent came on December 3, 2007 when the Terps fell 68-60 at Rutgers.

This is Maryland's full schedule:

Non-Conference Schedule

Sat.,  Nov. 1               Goldy-Beacom (Exhibition)
Sat.,  Nov. 8               UDC (Exhibition)
Fri.,   Nov 14              Mount St. Mary's
Sun., Nov 16             Wagner
Wed., Nov 19            South Florida
Sat.,  Nov 22             @George Washington
Mon., Nov 24             Loyola
Fri., Nov. 28               James Madison (San Juan, PR Shootout)
Sat.,  Nov 29              Washington State (San Juan, PR Shootout)
Wed., Dec. 3              Notre Dame (@ Ft. Wayne, Ind) (ACC-B1G Challenge)
Sun., Dec 7                Towson
Fri., Dec 12                 American
Sun., Dec 21              @Coppin State

Conference Schedule

Mon.,  Dec 29             Ohio State
Sat.,  Jan 3                 @Nebraska
Thu., Jan 8                 Purdue
Sun., Jan 11               @Minnesota
Thu., Jan 15               @Rutgers
Sun., Jan 18                 Illinois
Thu., Jan 22               Michigan State
Sun., Jan 25               @Indiana
Thu., Jan 29               @Michigan
Sun., Feb 1                  Iowa
Thu., Feb 5                @Penn State
Sun., Feb 8                 Nebraska
Tue., Feb 10               Rutgers
Mon., Feb 16              @Michigan State
Thu., Feb 19              @Wisconsin
Mon. Feb 23               Penn State
Thu., Feb 26               Indiana
Sun. Mar 1                 @Northwestern

The 2015 Big Ten Tournament will be March 4-8 at the Sears Centre in Hoffman Estates, Ill.