clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Maryland football: Center Sal Conaboy named to Rimington Trophy Watch List

Conaboy started all 13 games for Maryland last season and is the fourth Terp ever to be named to the trophy's watch list.


Stefon Diggs isn't the only player getting national recognition in College Park. Starting center Sal Conaboy, the anchor of Maryland's offensive line, was named to the 2014 Rimington Trophy Fall Watch List Tuesday, the committee announced.

The Rimington Trophy is given annually to the top center in the FBS. Conaboy is the fourth Maryland player to be named to its watch list, joining Melvin Fowler (2001), Kyle Schmit (2003 and 2004) and Edwin Williams (2008).

Watch lists are essentially another way of saying "Hey, you did pretty well last season!" You don't have to be on the watch list to win the award (making them mostly useless), but it's a nice bit of recognition for players who sometimes don't always get it -- like centers!

Conaboy started all 13 games at center last year for the Terps and was named to the All-Academic ACC team. He also received the team's Public Service Award at the end of the season, and is the president of Maryland's Uplifting Athletes chapter, a nonprofit that raises awareness for rare diseases among college football players.

The full list:

Alex Huettel Alex Mateas
Andy Gallik Artie Rowell
Austin Barron Austin Blythe
Austin Reiter B.J. Finney
Betim Bujari Braden Lyons
Brandon Vitabile Bryce Giddens
Bryce Redman Chris Jasperse
Cody Waldrop Collin Rahrig
Dan Voltz David Andrews
David Peterson Deyshawn Bond
Dillon Day Dominic Espinosa
Donald Senat Dylan Foxworth
Edward Fusi Elliott Porter
Evan Boehm Graham Shuler
Greg Mancz Hroniss Grasu
Isaac Seumalo Jack Allen
Jake Brendel Jake Smith
Joe Townsend Joey Grant
Joey Hunt Jon Hoffing
Jon Toth Jordan Smith
Kyle Friend LaMar Bratton
Mark Pelini Matt Galas
Matt Skura Max Garcia
Michael Husar Mike Criste
Mike Marboe Mike Matthews
Nate Leonard Nick Beamish
Nick Martin Reese Dismukes
Robert Kugler Robert Waterman
Ryan Kelly Ryan Norton
Sal Conaboy Shane McDermott
Steven Gurrola Taylor Lasecki
Tom Farniok Tommy Olson
Ty Darlington Valerian Ume-Ezeoke