clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Reese named ILWCA Coach of the Year

Maryland head coach Cathy Reese picked up her second National Coach of the Year award in her eight years at the helm.

Tommy Gilligan-USA TODAY Sports

Following upon her awards as ACC Coach of the Year, and the Intercollegiate Women's Lacrosse Coaches Association (IWLCA) Division I Regional Coach of the Year, Maryland coach Cathy Reese picked up the season's final piece of hardware when the IWLCA announced Monday morning that it had chosen Reese as the National Coach of the Year. This marks the second National Coach of the Year Award for Reese joining the award she won after leading the Terps to the national championship in 2010.

The 2014 Terrapins gave their coach just about everything she could have asked for:

By the numbers

4th in goals per game at 14.58

9th goals yielded per game at 7.96

3rd in scoring margin at 6.62 per game.

4th in draw controls per game

6th consecutive ACC Tournament title

12th National Championship in program history (2nd under Reese)

23 wins equaling a program record

6 ILWCA All-Americans

1 ILWCA Defender of the Year - Megan Douty (also ACC Defender of the Year)

1 ILWCA Midfielder of the Year - Taylor Cummings

2 Tewaaraton finalists (Taylor Cummings and Megan Douty)

1 Tewaaraton winner - Taylor Cummings

In eight years as Maryland's head coach, the Terps have won two National Championships, been to two additional championship games, and two national semifinals. They've won six ACC Tournament Championships while compiling a record of 164 wins and 17 losses (.906). Reese has also won ACC Coach of the Year a record seven times.

With only one senior starter on the 2014 Terps, Reese looks well positioned to lead Maryland to continuing success as they move to the B1G.