clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Maryland to host 2015 Big Ten Lacrosse Tournament

Byrd Stadium is the site to host the first Big Ten Lacrosse Tournament in 2015

Matt Cashore-USA TODAY Sports

Earlier today, the B1G announced the sites and dates for the first two Big Ten Lacrosse Tournaments in 2015 and 2016. The 2015 edition will be hosted by Maryland, with Byrd Stadium the site of the Semi-Finals and Championship game, while the 2016 edition will be hosted by Johns Hopkins, with Homewood Field the site for the games.

The dates for the 2015 Tournament will be April 30 to May 2nd, which is about a week after the ACC Tournament, held in the 3rd week of April. The 2015 B1G Tournament is the last week of April/beginning of May.

Four teams will qualify for the tournament out of the 6 team B1G Conference - Maryland, Johns Hopkins, Penn State, Rutgers, Michigan, Ohio State - and will play two Semi-Final games on Thursday April 30th. The Championship Game will be on Saturday, May 2nd. In 2016, the tournament will move back a week, held from May 5th-7th at Johns Hopkins.

This marks the second B1G Tournament that will be held in the D.C. area, the other of course being the B1G Ten basketball tournament being hosted at the Verizon Center in 2017. It continues a strong commitment by Big Ten Commissioner Jim Delany to expand the conference's footprint into the East while simultaneously making the two newest members of the Big Ten feel welcomed into what has historically been viewed as a Midwest  conference.