clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Terps lacrosse picked to finish last in competitive ACC

Three Terrapins make the all-conference team.

Rob Carr

It's no secret that the ACC is the toughest conference in lacrosse, and Maryland has a tough task ahead of them in their last season before moving to the Big Ten (who is basically starting lacrosse just for the Terps). Call it ACC bias or just the luck of the draw, but Maryland is picked to finish last in the six-team conference this season.

Atlantic Coast Conference newcomer Syracuse has been selected as the preseason favorite in the ACC Men's Lacrosse Preseason Poll. The announcement comes in conjunction with Inside Lacrosse's release of its annual Face-Off Yearbook.

Head coach John Desko's Orange received 28 points in balloting among the ACC's six head coaches. Reigning NCAA Champion Duke and defending ACC champion North Carolina each received 27 points and were selected second. Virginia (16), Notre Dame (15) and Maryland (13) were selected to finish fourth, fifth and sixth respectively.

* * * * *

Coaches Poll
1. Syracuse (28)
T2. Duke (27)
T2. North Carolina (27)
4. Virginia (16)
5. Notre Dame (15)
6. Maryland (13)

Those numbers to the right, by the way, are points, not first-place votes -- the conference is tight, but not that tight.

The all-conference team is a lot more favorable to Maryland, with three Terps making the ballot.

Preseason All-ACC Team

Mark Cockerton, Sr., Virginia
Joe Sankey, Jr., North Carolina
Jordan Wolf, Sr., Duke

Rob Emery, Sr., Virginia
Jim Marlatt, Sr., Notre Dame
Chud Tutton, Jr., North Carolina

Mike Ehrhardt, Sr., Maryland
Scott McWilliams, Sr., Virginia
Goran Murray, Jr., Maryland

Niko Amato, Sr., Maryland

Brendan Fowler, Sr., Duke

Longstick Midfield
Luke Duprey, Sr., Duke

Shortstick Midfield
Ryan Creighton, Sr., North Carolina

Amato is a three-time All-ACC selection, and was named second-team All-American last season (after an honorable mention All-American selection in 2012). Erhardt was a second-team All-American selection last season as well, and Murray was third-team (all via Murray was the ACC Freshman of the Year in 2012.

The men's lacrosse season will start in mid-February.