Terps' Vasquez, Williams Honored on All-ACC Teams

The All-ACC teams were released today, and were, for the most part, sensible. Unsurprisingly, Greivis Vasquez was a unanimous selection, as were Jon Scheyer and Malcolm Delaney. He's the first Terp to be on the All-ACC first team since Steve Blake did it in his senior season.

Sadly, Eric Hayes, Landon Milbourne, and Sean Mosley all missed the third team - Mosley and Milbourne both had ill-timed slumps which probably killed their chances, and Hayes was a long-shot all along. I do think that if Milbourne hadn't had the late season slow-down that he would've made it, and certainly would've deserved it over, say, Alabi or Hudson.

Another non-surprise came on the ACC All-Rookie team; Derrick Favors led the way in votes, but Maryland forward Jordan Williams was right on his tail, just one vote away. I just want to know who thought that Williams wasn't one of the five best freshmen in the ACC.

Other than that, not a lot was qualm-worthy; Kyle Singler was the last on the first team, and I honestly think he deserved to be ahead of Booker. That's a strange case of a Duke player getting fewer votes than they deserve. Ishmael Smith doesn't seem like a second-team player in my mind, but I can't really complain when the next two options are Gani Lawal and Dorenzo Hudson.

Congrats go out to both Terps. Coach of the Year, Player of the Year, and Rookie of the Year are all announced tomorrow.

The full teams are below:

First-team All-ACC
Greivis Vasquez, Maryland (159)
Jon Scheyer, Duke (159)
Malcolm Delaney, Virginia Tech (159)
Trevor Booker, Clemson (137)
Kyle Singler, Duke (134)

Second-team All-ACC
Al-Farouq Aminu, Wake Forest (126)
Nolan Smith, Duke (104)
Sylven Landesberg, Virginia (95)
Tracy Smith, N.C. State (82)
Ishmael Smith, Wake Forest (76)

Third-team All-ACC
Gani Lawal, Georgia Tech (73)
Dorenzo Hudson, Virginia Tech (51)
Chris Singleton, Florida State (50)
Joe Trapani, Boston College (38)
Solomon Alabi, Florida State (30)

ACC All-Rookie Team
Derrick Favors, Georgia Tech (52)
Jordan Williams, Maryland (51)
Durand Scott, Miami (44)
C.J. Harris, Wake Forest (41)
Michael Snaer, Florida State (35)

ACC All-Defensive Team
Chris Singleton, Florida State (48)
Solomon Alabi, Florida State (39)
Trevor Booker, Clemson (21)
Lance Thomas, Duke (17)
L.D. Williams, Wake Forest (16)

Log In Sign Up

Log In Sign Up

Forgot password?

We'll email you a reset link.

If you signed up using a 3rd party account like Facebook or Twitter, please login with it instead.

Forgot password?

Try another email?

Almost done,

By becoming a registered user, you are also agreeing to our Terms and confirming that you have read our Privacy Policy.

Join Testudo Times

You must be a member of Testudo Times to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Testudo Times. You should read them.

Join Testudo Times

You must be a member of Testudo Times to participate.

We have our own Community Guidelines at Testudo Times. You should read them.




Choose an available username to complete sign up.

In order to provide our users with a better overall experience, we ask for more information from Facebook when using it to login so that we can learn more about our audience and provide you with the best possible experience. We do not store specific user data and the sharing of it is not required to login with Facebook.